Ace’s Game of the Year 2016

2016 was a great year for games. First person shooters were on the rise again this year. Final fantasy is back. The last guardian is finally released. Many sequels were great and exceeded expectations. While 2015 had more heavy hitters like The Witcher 3 and Bloodborne, 2016 was no slouch either. Games have been getting better this generation and I hope 2017 will be even better with the likes of Nioh, The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild and Horizon: Zero Dawn coming in the near months.

Disclaimer: I haven’t played other popular games like Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare, Battlefield 1, Overwatch, Doom, Deus Ex: Mankind Divided and many other high profile games. These are my personal favorite games of the year 2016 that I played. So now, here are my honorable mentions and my top 5 games of 2016.

Honorable Mentions:

Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth

I’ll give props to the developers of Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth. They did a job well done on this game to make Digimon more relevant. This game can seriously compete with Pokemon and I hope the new Digimon game coming this year will be great too.

Gears of War 4

Gears of War 4 was my first GoW game so I came in and knew only a bit of the world surrounding it. I left the game wanting to know more of its world and shoot more aliens and robots as the shooting in this game is phenomenal. Hope that Gears of War 5 will come sooner than later.

Dark Souls III

This is my first SoulsBorne game that isn’t in my  yearly top 5. While Dark Souls III is great, I feel that it didn’t introduce enough mechanics to the table for the supposedly last game in the series. The mechanics though are refined to perfection and the bosses are harder than ever but there are other games that are deserving in my top games.

Ratchet and Clank

This game surprised me a lot. I was going to buy No Man’s Sky but FORTUNATELY the game was sold out and I instead bought this game. I easily fell in love with characters and laughed so many times. Insomniac really did a good job on this one and hoping for spider man to be great as well as I really love spidey.

Titanfall 2

This is the most recent game I’ve played on this list. The campaign had me blown away. The 60 fps and gorgeous visuals accompanied with good story and characters made me smile while shooting at enemies left and right with high speed and skill. The multiplayer is equally fun! Using different loadouts and doing stuff to get your titan is satisfying

Top 5 games of 2016

xenoblade_chronicles_x_game_2015-1920x1080

5. Xenoblade Chronicles X

Technically this game out in December 2015 but I usually count games that came out in between Dec 1 to Nov 30 of the next year so this game counts on my list. Xenoblade Chronicles X was the main reason I got the Wii U and oh my it delivered. The exploration is top notch with the varied locations and ecology. Riding your own Skell after getting through the story was blast. while the story never reached its height, it still made me excited for the future installments as Nintendo announced Xenoblade 2 which may be connected to the first one rather than this. The soundtrack of this game was astounding but was awfully loud and misplaced especially during cut-scenes. All in all, I’m satisfied on what MonolithSoft did for the Wii U. Definitely the system seller it needed.

da0o6ctctimmhe8cilbn

4. Pokemon Moon

Pokemon Moon was my initial game of the year but having thoughts on all of the games I’ve played this year, Pokemon Moon deserves this spot on the list. The game did so many right things and change to the franchise. The new Pokemon are engaging and this had one of the best Pokemon stories to tell. The technical issues are the only standout issues here especially the frame rate and some inclusion of features that are really not important. 2016 was the year of Pokemon with all the hype of Pokemon Go, this game and Ash getting in the finals for the first time ever, Pokemon is still the monster catching game to beat.

final-fantasy-xv-noctis-gladio-ignis-prompto

3. Final Fantasy XV

After 10 Years, The game was finally released and the game was awesome but at the same time disappointing. Final Fantasy XV provided me with more than enough entertainment with the combat system and the continuous banter between the bros. The big open world was refreshing from the linear XIII. While the story itself was great and made me tear in the end, the execution was bad especially the second half of the game where it became linear and the obviously cut content wasn’t in the game that could have made the game not only on of the best final fantasies but one of the best games of all time. All in all, Final Fantasy XV is worth your time despite its shortcomings. The bros are the best 😥

u4_e3_1920x1080_0

2. Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End

The last chapter in drake’s story was a beautiful one. The raw emotion of a family bonded by adventure was executed perfectly in this title. The action was top notch like those movies you watch every summer. Graphics is one of the best if not the best I’ve seen this generation. Every event makes you wonder what will happen next. Saying goodbye to these characters is hard but all stories needs to end and this was the perfect ending to a near perfect franchise. Thank you Naughty Dog, Nolan North and Amy Hennig for making the best franchise for Playstation.

GAME OF THE YEAR

714362

Inside

I never imagined that this game would be my game of the year. When my brother told me that this game was out, I thought this game was Below. To my surprise, It was another title and made by the developers of limbo which I adored. After playing it for minutes, I knew this game was going to be special. Every location and puzzle wasn’t forced and felt like a natural progression of the story. While the puzzles aren’t really hard, they were entertaining and the way it was presented was phenomenal. Some of the mechanics weren’t even used in the main story but was used in optional content which was crazy and maybe my favorite moment of the year. The longer it went through the year, the more I thought about Inside and how it was a really awesome video game even though the ending is weird as hell but the lasting impression the game gives to you is undoubtedly great. For me, This is what indie games are for, to create phenomenal games that aren’t scared of the norms and this is the prime example of this. Inside is not only the best indie game I’ve played but one of the best games I’ve played in a long time. Congratulations on Playdead and Inside for getting my vote for Game of the year 2016. You truly deserve it.

Leave a Reply

